DR Day 2!

I am continually struck at how beautiful this country is every time I turn around. Flying in I could see all the different landscapes surrounding us and it was incredibly beautiful. Today we got to see even more of the surrounding area and I am at a loss for words to describe the view that combined the city and the mountains beyond. The architecture is also incredible. I’m surprised at how modern some structures seem to be, and at the English influence. We all went to a restaurant for lunch today where 3 birthdays were celebrated- and they sang the song in Spanish and English. The music they were playing is the same music you’d hear at a restaurant in Jersey. I wasn’t expecting that. So far, I’ve been trying to take in as much as I can, but I’m really looking forward to starting our service work tomorrow!

One comment

  1. Gardy Guiteau · March 16, 2015

    The “English” influence that you are referring to here is a great example of how globalization has Americanized many metropolitan spaces around the would. Obviously, Square One is Santiago, DR is no exception. This is also a great example of how cultural “baggage” gets transported across borders.

    Like

Leave a comment