Growing Up Too Fast

Before the day began: Today is second day of the service learning and I’m very excited! I l can’t wait to see all the beautiful faces! I think that the best part about this comderas is the fact that anyone is able to come so I know I will see new faces today.

After: Today was another great day. The weather was beautiful and my team and I worked hard to finish painting the fences and then started our work with the gates on the actual building and then onto the swing set. I can not write on this blog without explaining the love the children have for the swing set even though it is broken. Another thing I noticed is that the older kids who are about 12 years old take on adult responsibilities such as watching the students, helping the teacher and the cook Ama with any and everything and also trying to get the students under control because at times it does get very loud. I also seen a boy who should have been in school but instead he had a kit and was working shining shoes. There are a couple of reasons that this child was not in school but instead he was working. The first thing I thought about was the fact that his family might need him to step up and begin working to help them financially. Another reason is that maybe this child is considered Haitian and not Dominican so he is not able to go to school.

Leave a comment