Disparity in the DR

Yesterday we went to our service learning placement for the first time. It feels so good to know we are painting such an important location for the Navarette neighborhood and children. The painting itself is hard-I am no artist or painter in any country! A lot of us noticed the abruptness of change from modern houses with cement bases to those made from wood and tin. The roads changed from paved to dirt. The clothing changed from new to old. The disparity between life in the city and life in the neighborhood was very apparent.

Last night, we did an activity that gave us a visual representation of the our own class disparity. It’s not as apparent within the group as it is with the Dominican locations. I think it’s because we all have Rowan in common that I don’t see the difference in us. I am definitely a privileged person. I never need to wonder whether or not I’m privileged- I am. The hardest part of that exercise for me was being called an obstacle. I don’t like to think of myself as blocking the way for someone else to have a chance at improving their social class. I might not be leading a movement, but I don’t think I’m cutting off passageways for others either. There’s always more that can be done to help the lives of others, but I think it’s important to start small if you don’t know where to start. I can’t help everybody, but I can make some sort of difference. I think if everyone was able to look at the big picture instead of being overwhelmed at how much has to be done than together we could accomplish more. Just like us painting the comedor isn’t the same as building a well so they could have running water, but it’s something that will help. And something we can provide. Our work here might seem insignificant because it’s mainly a beautification project- but it’s making a difference for them.

Leave a comment